Rebinding done by Spiralverse

Sister Stardust: A Novel Spiral-Bound | April 5, 2022

Jane Green

★★★☆☆+ from 1,001 to 10,000 ratings

$28.97 - Free Shipping

In her first novel inspired by a true story, New York Times bestselling author Jane Green re-imagines the glamorous and tragic life of fashion icon and socialite Talitha Getty, for fans of Taylor Jenkins Reid and Paula McClain

*NATIONAL BESTSELLER*

A PARADE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF THE YEAR
A NEW YORK POST BEST BOOK OF THE WEEK

In her first novel inspired by a true story, Jane Green re-imagines the life of troubled icon Talitha Getty in this transporting story from a forgotten chapter of the Swinging '60s

 
From afar Talitha's life seemed perfect. In her twenties, and already a famous model and actress, she moved from London to a palace in Marrakesh, with her husband Paul Getty, the famous oil heir. There she presided over a swirling ex-pat scene filled with music, art, free love and a counterculture taking root across the world.
 
When Claire arrives in London from her small town, she never expects to cross paths with a woman as magnetic as Talitha Getty. Yearning for the adventure and independence, she's swept off to Marrakesh, where the two become kindred spirits. But beneath Talitha's glamourous facade lurks a darkness few can understand. As their friendship blossoms and the two grow closer, the realities of Talitha's precarious existence set off a chain of dangerous events that could alter Claire's life forever.
 

  
 

Publisher: HarperCollins
Original Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 304 pages
ISBN-10: 1335425780
Item Weight: 0.9 lbs
Dimensions: 6.3 x 1.0 x 9.2 inches
Customer Reviews: 3 out of 5 stars 1,001 to 10,000 ratings
"Jane Green has outdone herself with this mesmerizing and delicious story of a young girl trying to find her way—and losing control—in the Swinging Sixties in London. Jet-setting, glamorous, intoxicating, and a tad bit dangerous, Sister Stardust transports you to the very center of the glitterati and under the spell of Talitha Getty. A wild ride."—Taylor Jenkins Reid


"Sister Stardust is wonderful and big-hearted, expansive and page-turning. A joy to read."—Laura Dave, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Last Thing He Told Me 

Sister Stardust is smart, sexy, and compulsively page-turning. Love, love, love.”—Lauren Weisberger, #1 New York Times bestselling author


"A magic novel and a sumptuous feast for the senses. Sister Stardust is a thrilling trip.”—Elin Hilderbrand

"This novel is a feast for the senses: a coming-of-age story about a shopgirl in the ‘60s who takes a magic ride to a world most people can only dream of—and finds it even more glamorous, intoxicating, and ultimately heartbreaking than she ever could have imagined. Exuberantly hopeful and thrillingly alive, Sister Stardust is Jane Green’s best novel yet!”—Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author 

"Sister Stardust unfolds like a wild ride on the Marrakech Express. Based on a true story, the heady and decadent world of 1960's socialite Talitha Getty comes alive in paisley perfection when she meets her soul sister Claire. We are in the hands of the master craftsman Jane Green, who paints the world with a vivid brush, dripping in style and emotion. An unforgettable, spectacular read."—Adriana Trigiani, bestselling author of The Good Left Undone

“Green transports you into the fascinating and rarified world of the enigmatic Talitha Getty and makes you long to linger even as the pages fly by. I couldn’t get enough! An absolute must read.”—Liv Constantine, internationally bestselling author of The Last Mrs. Parrish

Sister Stardust is a time machine into the most glamorous and dangerous world you can imagine—yet suffused with Jane Green’s trademark enormous heart. Addictive, dazzling, transporting—the most luscious book you’ll read this year.”—Jenna Blum, New York Times bestselling author of Woodrow on the Bench and The Lost Family

“Jane Green transports readers to 1960s Marrakesh…a reimagining of the glamorous and tragic life of counterculture icon, socialite and Rolling Stones muse Talitha Getty.”—Parade

“Chock-full of vibrant historical details about London and Morocco in the 1960s, Green’s first foray into historical fiction does not disappoint…Green portrays the scenery and atmosphere so vividly that readers will be instantly transported. The descriptions of Marrakech, with its bright colors and beautiful architecture, present an especial sensory delight…A provocative story about youth culture during the 1960s, overflowing with sex, drugs, and rock and roll.”—Kirkus Reviews

“An enticing exploration of a bygone era in a fabled city and some of its real-life luminaries.”—Booklist

"Shimmering... Green convincingly describes the appeal of the music scene, as well as the allure of her beautiful characters, both famous and fictional. Green’s fans will be delighted by this story of glitter and tragedy."—Publishers Weekly

"Dreamlike...paints a vivid, intoxicating picture of a singular time in a singular place, where it seemed everything was possible... It's a rich and sensual read with delicate portrayals of real historical figures."—POPSUGAR

"Readers are transported to the Swinging '60s in this lush and intoxicating saga inspired by the true story of icon Talitha Getty."—Woman's World

"What a gem—a treasure chest of a novel full of decadence, glamor, and the best kind of heartache. Like the reader, our narrator Claire is quickly swept into the intoxicating social circle of Paul and Talitha Getty, who are as sophisticated and dazzling as they are doomed. I felt like I too was in late-sixties London and Morocco, dabbling in drugs and illicit romance, rubbing elbows with the Rolling Stones and other luminaries. Jane Green's novel is a joy and a pleasure, and a wonderful reminder of why we read—Sister Stardust is as close as we can get to time travel."—Emilie Sommer, East City Bookshop, Washington D.C.
 
"Jane Green's biopic of Talitha Getty is knock your socks off fiction. This coming of age story set among the decadent rock & roll era of the 1960's, and the glamorous but ill fated characters of the time, will sweep readers away to another time and place. Hop on this 'Marrakesh Express' and immerse yourself in a delight for the senses."—Pamela Klinger-Horn, Valley Bookseller, Stillwater, M
The author of eighteen New York Times bestsellers and nineteen USA TODAY bestsellers, Jane Green is a former journalist in the UK and a graduate of the International Culinary Center in New York. Her many novels include Jemima J, The Beach House, Falling, The Sunshine Sisters and, most recently, The Friends We Keep, and she has published one cookbook, Good Taste.