Rebinding done by Spiralverse

A Year in Our New Garden  (2nd Edition, Revised) Spiral-Bound | April 6, 2021

Gerda Muller

★★★★☆+ from 101 to 500 ratings

$25.29 - Free Shipping
New premium edition of a USSBY Outstanding International Book combining story and non-fiction – perfect for fans of WE ARE THE GARDENERS

Anna and Benjamin's family have just moved to a new house and can't wait to turn their messy yard into a beautiful garden, but first they must plan, plant and learn how to care for it.

With the help of their neighbor Louis, the children grow beautiful flowers and tasty vegetables and discover the amazing wildlife living in their new garden.

As the seasons change, Anna and Benjamin learn about all the wonderful things you can do in a garden: planting, harvesting, playing, enjoying picnics and spotting insects.

Alongside the charming story, A Year in Our New Garden also gives real gardening tips accompanied by beautifully detailed illustrations. This delightful and lively book will inspire children to get outdoors, be active and learn how nature changes around them through the year.

Publisher: Ingram Publisher Services
Original Binding: Hardcover Picture Book
Pages: 36 pages
ISBN-10: 1782507094
Item Weight: 1.3 lbs
Dimensions: 9.1 x 0.11 x 12.0 inches
Customer Reviews: 4 out of 5 stars 101 to 500 ratings

2017 USBBY Outstanding International Books (OIB) List

'Simply stated, no school or community library collection for young readers will be complete without the inclusion of Gerda Muller's A Year in Our New Garden ... The bright pages of gardening specifics and kid-oriented details on planting a garden shouldn't be missed.'
–Midwest Book Review

'The beautifully detailed paintings invite close inspection as the seasons change ... Helpful gardening tips, delicious recipes, and other related information accompany this tale and will surely inspire readers to create their own wonderful gardens. A fine companion to Muller's  How Does My Garden Grow?  and  A Year Around the Great Oak, it continues her tradition of providing an engaging story that also seamlessly integrates facts about the natural world. '
– School Library Journal

'The gouache, colored pencil and graphite art includes cozy, warm realistic depictions of the flora and fauna around the garden, as well as diagrams, drawings of tools and steps for different plantings and simple craft projects using garden elements. The larger size of the book allows for grand vistas, but also makes use of page corners and edges for charming detailed drawings. Muller is an amazing artist – in a scene of a campfire, it looks as if the smoke is right under the reader's nose.'
– Youth Services Book Review, 5 Stars

'Gerda Muller�s enchanting illustrations, filled with details, will keep little readers engaged.'
– San Francisco Book Review

'This book not only provides a vivid reminder of the importance of growing our own crops, but it also includes detailed images and descriptions of the seasonal changes and some of the activities such as making an acorn necklace or freshly-squeezed lemonade in which the youngsters engage. I liked the simple fact that their new friend Louis, who is depicted in a wheelchair, has his own balcony garden as well. I also enjoyed the youngsters' enthusiastic embracing of their various gardening projects.'
– GoodReads reviewer

Gerda Muller was born in 1926 in Naarden, Holland. She attended the Fine Arts School of Amsterdam and Ecole Estienne of Paris. She has illustrated over 120 books for children and her books have been translated into many languages. She is the illustrator of the Seasons board books, How Does My Garden Grow, Goldilocks and the Three Bears, A Year Around the Great Oak, and Where Do They Go When It Rains? (all Floris Books).